V6 Discussion and questions about the base carbureted or MPFI V6's and the rare SFI Turbo V6.

Why would someone want new rearend gears?

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2007, 12:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1992 Camaro RS V6
Engine: 3.1 V6 MFI
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 3.23 stock
Why would someone want new rearend gears?

As I always say, I'm a noob and I'm still learning. Alot of people on here mention thier yadda yadda something posi rear end gears. What diff does it make? Like maybe 1 for drag racing and a diff for long hauls? Can you get one that engages both wheels instead of just the one back one? If I wanted to get better gas mileage and more traction for driving in the rain, could I find something like that?
Old 11-14-2007, 08:23 AM

Car: '87 Camaro / '87 Chevy K10
Engine: 3.4L MPFI (soon) / 5.7L TBI
Transmission: 700R4 / 700R4
Axle/Gears: 3.42 / 3.73
Re: Why would someone want new rearend gears?

That's what posi is: engages both wheels. ONly engaging one is called 'open'.

It's technically called limited slip differential. Each car company has their own name for their implementation of it; GM calls theirs 'posi-trac', 'posi' for short. Ford has another name, but pretty much everyone calls it posi.
Old 11-14-2007, 09:01 AM

Car: 1984 z28
Engine: BBC
Transmission: TH400

If you want a slower acceleration and better potential top speed, go with a gear like a 2.73. You will be turning less rpms at any given mph, so you will save gas unless you floor it everywhere to compensate for the worse acceleration. If you want a faster acceleration but less top speed, you would want something with a bigger ratio like a 4.11. So at any given mph, the rpms will be higher and you will use more gas. There is more to it then that, but that's the basics of gears
Old 11-14-2007, 09:11 AM
Supreme Member

Car: 1987 IROC-Z Camaro
Engine: L98 5.7L TPI
Transmission: 700-R4
Axle/Gears: 3.27 BW

Here's a post I made a while back about diff's.

Click me!