Transmissions and Drivetrain Need help with your trans? Problems with your axle?

trying to upgrade my rear end ratio but im lost

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2011, 12:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1988 Chevy Camaros
Engine: 350 5.7
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: Stock rearend
trying to upgrade my rear end ratio but im lost

i have a 1988 chevy camaro 5.7 Iroc z28 with a 700R4 transmission with a stock rear end its a 9 bolt and not posi.want to upgrade my rear end trying to have a better launch so im buying a new 700R4 transmission with a 2300 to 2500 stall torque converter from monster transmission and was planning to get a 3.73 gear ratio and posi traction I also hear the posi traction is a bad idea to make turn and will loss control on wet street and with the 3.73 will eat my gas milegas fast and since im a daily driver I dont need that. so what would be a good setup.
Here is the web site where im going to buy the transmission and torque converter.
http://monstertrans.com/store/produc...ssion-2WD.html

torque converter
http://monstertrans.com/store/produc...500-Stall.html
Old 05-14-2011, 01:58 PM
Supreme Member
TGO - 10 Year Member

Received 1,857 Likes on 1,415 Posts
Car: Yes
Engine: Usually
Transmission: Sometimes
Axle/Gears: Behind me somewhere
Re: trying to upgrade my rear end ratio but im lost

The 9-bolt should be a posi. (or at least, should have been, at one time)