Transmissions and Drivetrain Need help with your trans? Problems with your axle?

Double tranny probs = husband working overtime :(

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2010, 09:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: '89 Iroc Z
Engine: Paxton SN-92 305
Transmission: 5 spd
Axle/Gears: 3.73
Double tranny probs = husband working overtime :(

Ok I know this post has been beaten to absolute death but my probs aren't addressed in the post 10 pages of old threads so here it goes. I have 2 cars (6 total 2 I'm mentioning) First: 88' 2.8 700r4, tranny won't do 3rd or 4th gears. Now when i bought it from the previous "mechanic" who owned it he said 3rd was slippin (ie doesn't work, period). Upon my inspection (mind you I'm a nurse, and a dude, and que laughter now) the TV cable wasn't even hooked up. It was wrapped in a coil under the cowl. So i said hmm lets plug her in. No bueno. Still no 3rd or 4th, car pulls like a m*ther f'er in 1st and 2nd (actually just putting it in 2nd seems to work like drive? ie shifts from 1st to second appropriately). Now i changed the fluid and filter, attempted to adjust the TV cable (button wont depress, not too sure on that) When driven like a stick (1st gear than 2nd gear or just in 2nd the whole time) it will peel out and book it to 70 in 2-3 blocks (very surprised) although my rpms will be at like 4800-5000. If driven in drive or overdrive once it tries to engage 3rd gear it just slips and will rev to the governor. Also of note it makes the apparently normal "thunk" sounds when going from park to reverse and sounds like 1st-2nd is rather "hard" as it also thunks (no hesitation just pure power to the rear . Second: 89' T-Top RS 2.8 700r4, tranny won't hold in any gear, slipping all around. Problem has progressed over past 2 weeks. Of note, tranny was not working when received car because it kept leaking fluid so the previous owner just added 1-3 quarts DAILY! Turns out the tranny fluid line from the cooler line on the radiator to the tranny was r