Transmissions and Drivetrain Need help with your trans? Problems with your axle?

Clutch Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2009, 10:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1991 Camaro RS
Engine: 305 CI V8 (TBI)
Clutch Replacement

My 1991 Camaro RS (5.0L 305, T-5 5 speed Transmission) needs a new clutch. It slips when I press hard on the gas pedal and revs a bit before catching. Even then, it doesn't accelerate after it catches. I have no knowledge whatsoever on how to replace the clutch. I was wondering if anybody could help my out by sharing any experiences/knowledge they have with me. Also, if I'm buying a new clutch, what exactly do I need to buy? I see multiple options (i.e. - Clutch plate, clutch kit....stuff like that) when shopping online for one. I am on budget at the moment. I'm not trying to be a cheapskate but at the same time, I can't afford to put a super heavy duty NASA space shuttle grade clutch in it. Anyways, what tools will I need to perform this task? Thanks for any help that anybody can give me.
Old 04-12-2009, 11:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: Firebird
Engine: 2.8 v/6
Transmission: t/5
Axle/Gears: open/3.42
Re: Clutch Replacement