Transmissions and Drivetrain Need help with your trans? Problems with your axle?

t5 gear problem

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2007, 08:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 87 Firebird Formula, 97' GMC Sierra
Engine: LT1, 4.3 Vortec
Transmission: T-56, 4L60E
Axle/Gears: 4.10 Posi, 3.42 Posi
t5 gear problem

Hey guys, just got my firebird finally. It's a 1991 firebird 5.0 tbi 5 speed. On the way home I noticed it went into 3rd hard, then later it didn't wanna go into it. So basically now I can't get into 3rd except for the first few shifts when I brought it home. I don't know if maybe i'm not trying hard enough or what. I had to shift from 2nd to 4th the rest of the way home, but someone told me that their mechanic told them that that will ruin the tranny, is that true? it was only to get it home. Is this a normal prob with the t5? or is anyone else having this trouble? I'm new to driving manual, but I was doing good till it just didn't want to go in 3rd anymore, and I tried a bunch of times so I personally just ruled not shifting correctly (clutch was full to the floor too) out, but i'm not ashamed to say maybe, just maybe it is me. I'll take it out sometime and try again, but I got a gas leak to fix right now. Help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
Old 05-10-2007, 04:18 AM
Supreme Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Re: t5 gear problem