TPI Tuned Port Injection discussion and questions. LB9 and L98 tech, porting, tuning, and bolt-on aftermarket products.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

305 TPI fuel injectors

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2024 | 10:12 PM

Car: 1988 Firebird Formula
Engine: 305 V8 TPI LB9
Transmission: 5 Speed Manual BorgWarner T-5
Axle/Gears: Borg & Warner 3.45 RATIO
305 TPI fuel injectors

First post hope I put this in the right place, if not sorry please move it to the right place. Second thing I am not a mechanic so please bear with me if these questions sound dumb or certain things aren't obvious to me. Third I recently bought my firebird so I am new to them so please excuse my new/possibly dumb questions. I think I may have a problem with one or more of my fuel injectors and I am looking for replacement parts. I have a 1988 Pontiac Firebird Formula with the 305 TPI V8 LB9 engine. Ok with that out of the way onto the questions.

1 What exactly am I looking for?
If my research is correct it should be part number 17111960 correct?
The reason I ask is if I am reading my parts book right (I very well may not be) that seems to be the part number, however when I search at parts stores online for fuel injectors for a 1988 firebird with a 305 I rarely come across that part number but come across many other numbers.

By the way when looking for parts online it often asks to chose between base and Trans Am. I haven't seen an option for formula. I am guessing I should look under base or am I wrong. Does that even matter if I have the year and engine right?

What should the be pound rating be? Does the pound rating mean how many pounds per hour it pumps? I seem to have come across several ratings does it mater? I have seen other stats for fuel injectors as well such as Ohms and psi. What specs should I be looking for and which ones matter? The more I look the muddier the waters seem to get.