TPI Tuned Port Injection discussion and questions. LB9 and L98 tech, porting, tuning, and bolt-on aftermarket products.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New TPI ZZ4 - Help with tuning

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2001, 09:00 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New TPI ZZ4 - Help with tuning

Guys:

I just finished installing a ZZ4 with TPI in my 88IROCZ. The car originally had the TPI 305 and I've moved the gear over to the ZZ4 with the following changes,

TPIS Big Mouth, Adj. regulator, Level 6 PROM
Random Tech Cat and 3" catback system
24#/hr injectors from fuel injection specialties (stock were 18#) These injectors came in GM boxes so I'm assuming they are rochester.

My fuel pressure was set at idle (600 - 650RPM)at 47 psi. I set the timing at 6BTDC.

The engine bogs at low end but shows real potential if you get to mid-range. I'm new at this, having fun, and would like some advice on where to go from here. I will add that I have a bad exhaust leak (I'm getting it fixed today) and was wondering if this could cause part of my problem. The engine now has 70 miles on it.

Thanks
Old 10-06-2001, 10:14 AM

whats the inital timing set at? 8-10* is a good
start. tps voltage should be .5v-7v at idle.
the manifold is moving more air than the stock
unit. a scanner will tell you if you are bogging
because of too much fuel or too much air.
fuel pressure is? 42-45# is a good starting
place.
airdeano
Old 10-06-2001, 06:21 PM

If 47psi is your fuel pressure with the vacuum line connected at idle, then your pressure is too high. Try 42-45 as airdeano said without the vacuum line connected (engine shut off). Hope this helps.

------------------
1990 IROC 350
Mods: Too busy trying to make it run right to mod it.
Airfoil, Dynomax cat-back, MSD coil, 180 t-stat, Bald Eagle tires,
Hypertech fan switch, Accel 23# injectors, Holley module, ported plenum,
Ported Daytona Yellow stock base, Moroso valve covers, other stuff,
Streetdampr, Ruger P95DC, hot wife, new oil filter, !cats, !TBC, !AIR.