TPI Tuned Port Injection discussion and questions. LB9 and L98 tech, porting, tuning, and bolt-on aftermarket products.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

TPI vs Carb

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2003, 10:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1991 Camaro RS Convertible
Engine: 305 TBI
Transmission: Auto
TPI vs Carb

I'm looking into buying a 82 Z28 that of course is carbed, my friend (who knows a lot about 3rd gens) says not to get a carb. So my first question is what's the difference? Second how hard is switching a carb to TPI and third how much is it going to run me? Thanks, I'm new at all this and though some think ignorance is bliss... I think I sound just plain stupid
Old 04-06-2003, 11:58 PM
Supreme Member

Received 199 Likes on 172 Posts
Not to worry... there's a wealth of knowlege on this sight. Besides, we'd rather see people in Camaros instead of Hondas!

Your friend is absolutely right about the TPI being better than a carburetor. Here's why:

TPI sytems (or any port fuel injection set-ups) use high pressure fuel injectors that are located right above the cylinder heads and are pointed right at the back of the intake valves. When the valve opens, it fires a highly atomized fuel burst right into the cylinder. This has a nice advantage- the fuel does not have to travel down the intake runner with the air. They call this a dry-manifold system.

On carbureted systems, the fuel has to travel down the runner where it can sometimes form droplets and fall out of the air stream, or stick to the runner walls. When that happens, you basically lose the horsepower that fuel could have delivered to you. This is why carb manifolds are referred to as wet-manifold systems. TBI (Throttle Body Injection) setups are similar to carburetors in that they are wet manifold systems, but they are computer controlled and have high pressure injectors too, which makes them a little better, but not a whole lot.