Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

First time building an engine 350 5.7L V8

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2024, 07:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First time building an engine 350 5.7L V8

Hello, first time poster and on mobile, apologies for any typos/errors. Also apologize for the long read. TL;DR and summarized list at the bottom

Little bit of back story, i was recently gifted a 1989 transam GTA 5.7L V8,(skippable useless info ahead) i have never built an engine for performance, nor have i tore down an engine fully. I have only done repairs at the time of needing them in my personal vehicles, i am a novice in the world of motors. (For those interested, so far i have dropped a tranny 3 seperate times, fully replaced it once, replaced starters/alternators, fuel pump, Tie rods, and less complicated/common repairs) So i have surface level experience but nothing like rebuilding the top end. Also plan on learning how to rebuild trannys soon. That being said, eventually i want to turn this transam into something i can have alot of fun at a strip with. Ever since it was gifted to me, my brain says "gotta go fast" on repeat lol. (Also have never drag raced...yet) My final vision is twin tubo with possible supercharger as well? Idk if that works. But its for the distant future.