Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

202 camel humps

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2012 | 10:29 PM

202 camel humps

Ok so im new to this whole chevy thing. Im looking at some heads with casting # 3890462 according to him they are 2.02"/1.60" and according to the internet and him they are 64cc. Im building this motor for nitrous. Are these even the heads i want?

These are seemingly true camel humps right? One head is threaded the other is pinned. Hes asking 225 obo and they are totally broken down. he seems to have all the parts. My question is are these heads worth messing with or should i buy new heads and call it good? Id like to make them both threaded and have all new valves installed.

Thanks for any info.
Old 11-19-2012 | 11:45 PM

Car: 87 IROC L98
Engine: 588 Alcohol BBC
Transmission: Powerglide
Axle/Gears: Ford 9"/31 spline spool/4.86
Re: 202 camel humps

40 years ago these were considered performance heads. Unless you can get them for nothing and can do your own machine work, they're not worth the money. Some factory vortec heads from the junkyard are a much better option. Even a set of Dart iron Sportsman heads are better right out of the box than those old heads.

The only people who need those old castings are those who race in a class where they must run period correct castings or someone trying to build a numbers matching car. To everyone else, there are much better options. Chances are they don't have accessory bolt holes so things like your alternator bracket etc won't bolt up.