Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Valve Springs

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2012, 03:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Valve Springs

So I'm looking into changing my valve seals and was planning on swapping out valve springs (never been done according to last owner and has 190k) and spark plugs at the same time.

I was just wondering which valve springs you guys would recommend? I saw different strength springs

Also, since I'm new to mechanical stuff, my old man mentioned that if I use a compressor I'll need to turn the engine depending on firing order, was wondering how one would go about doing that?

Been looking around on search and haven't found my answer so far..
Old 07-10-2012, 10:05 PM
TGO - 10 Year Member

Received 240 Likes on 195 Posts
Re: Valve Springs

A lot depends upon the year of the engine. Older engines used plain square ring seals which are pretty ineffective at sealing oil and don't seem to have a very long life. Newer engines have retained umbrella type seals which can be more effective but can still fail after a lot of years/mileage.

If you are planning to replace valve seals with the heads on the engine (in car) you will have to retain the valves in order to remove the springs, providing access to the seals. You can use compressed air to hold the valves in place if you have a spark plug hole adapter and constant source of compressed air. Another method is to feed a length of braided nylon rope into the cylinder through the spark plug hole and then turn the engine by hand to compress the rope against the valves. This usually works reasonably well since the limp rope tends to fall downward to the lower (valve) side of the bore.