Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

help With HEI timing on mild 305? questions?

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2012, 12:44 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Car: 1986 Iroc-Z
Engine: 355
Transmission: 700R4
help With HEI timing on mild 305? questions?

so i finally got a hold of a timing light and i started playing around with the initial timing.

First off the engine is a mild 305, holey 4160 carb, accel super coil HEi distributor with vaccum advance. Im not 100% of whats in the 305 but i know its not stock.

I set my timing to 12 degrees at idle, with the vac advanced plugged in and the car didnt seem to "pull" at all at WOT. I then set it to 8 degrees at idle and it seemed to help, it pulled better than at 12.

1)how do i calculate total timing? How would i measure that? I know i would need to rev up the engine until the timin doesnt advance anymore and that would be my total timing correct? But my balancer doesnt have any marks to tell me exactly how many degrees its at when it finishes advancing, only thing i have is the timing mark to go by.

2)Generally what would be a good initial timing for a mild 305? and am i doing it correctly with the vac advanced plugged in?

3)ive read some people said to advance it until i hear pinging then go down 2 degrees, but im having a hard time hearing any pinging over my exhaust, any tips on finding sweet spot?

Thanks for any help, i appreciate it.
Old 03-31-2012, 04:43 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 92' Camaro RS
Engine: 383 Stroker
Transmission: M5
Axle/Gears: 3.73
Re: help With HEI timing on mild 305? questions?