Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

88 Iroc z Help Me I'm New to TPI

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2012, 07:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
88 Iroc z Help Me I'm New to TPI

Can someome please help me out? I just picked up a bone stock original 88 L98 from the original owner and I have a couple issues. First, my air box cover has an IATS in it but it is not plugged in to a harness. I cannot find the harness anywhere under the hood. Is this supposed to be here or do I have a donor airbox cover? Will this cause problems? Second I have this annoying problem of the check engine light coming on after I shut the car off and then restart it. Sometimes when I start the car it runs normally no light and I can drive it forever it runs great. Then I shut it off to get gas or food, go back start it up, sometimes no light and good. Sometimes the light pops on and the car idles 300-500 rpm in drive and surges between 500-1500 rpm in park, and the exhaust stinks like hell burns your eyes and the car runs like junk. I took it to a local shop and they told me it threw a mass air code up. I didnt trust them and my dad owns an 87 formula 350, so I pilfered his Mass air for a couple days and gave him mine. Both cars run as they did before the swap. If anyone has any ideas I would be grateful as I dont know squat. I'm not afraid to spend the money to fix it. I just dont wanna swap sixty parts to get there or hack it in. The car is cherry stock and I intend to keep it that way.
Old 03-21-2012, 08:27 PM
Supreme Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Car: 1987 iroc
Engine: 383 TPIS intake, Dyno Don headers
Transmission: 700R4 w/Pro-built Auto/transgo 2-3
Axle/Gears: 3.27/3.70 borg warner 9 bolt
Re: 88 Iroc z Help Me I'm New to TPI