Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

1st 350 engine rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2010, 10:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1st 350 engine rebuild

I am new to engine rebuilds have been reading about it for about a month now on this site and a few others so i got the just of it. I would love to make it a 383 but in doing so would it be worth it to bore it out .030 over or would .060 be reasonable?!?!? I would love for this engine to put out about 350 hp/torque. Main questions include any suggestions as to what performance parts i should use includeing pistons/heads/intake/rebuild or stroker kits/etc... (prices on the specific parts would be nice also.) Is it possible to keep this project around 2500 considering i plan on doing all work possible myself excludeing cleaning/machine shop work? What is better 2 bolt main? 4 bolt main? Have heard about 2 bolt mains being converted to 4 bolt mains at machine shops? I am ok with going over 2500 but would love to have a little cash left over. Would i be able to keep my transmission stock (its a 700r4 i believe) same with torque converter, drive shafts rear end? I am 19 and got 11 months of time to use up before i restart schooling so all help is not required but appreciated thanks.

Last edited by ghostride4; 10-06-2010 at 11:16 PM.
Old 10-06-2010, 11:35 PM

Received 36 Likes on 34 Posts
Car: 82 Berlinetta/57 Bel Air
Engine: LS1/LQ4
Transmission: 4L60E/4L80E
Axle/Gears: 12B-3.73/9"-3.89
Welcome aboard thirdgen.org.