Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

5.0 TBI wont idle same problem with mine

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2010 | 10:46 PM

5.0 TBI wont idle same problem with mine

Newbie here,
Hey guys my name is john i just aquired an 89 formula 305 5.oo tbi
64k on the clock.
Bad idle. some girl owned it from 25,000 to 64000 mile light tap in the front new hood needs paint.
did the stater virst night would not start . done worked out great.
next brakes were squeeking/ cut rotors new pads were goos to go on that. needed two rear tires 245/50/16 done.
moving ilong new oil /filter plugs cap rotor all stantdard parts.
"Napa got the good stuff"
next new cat bacl exhaust had some rust on pipe figured car was worth it.
done $200 did it myself. sway bar links needed attention did them nice.
took car to work for a month ran great a little hop maybe shocks or struts need replace or bad tire not sure.
Ok here it is
Went to lunch one day the car started to stall .
did the gas filter underneath keeps leaking as you change it night mare to change is your not carful. same deal stalls,
Next changed the tps nothing same deal.
next base gasket, smae deal stalls.
next changed map sensor nothing same deal.
not sure whats next control module in dist help cannot figure out
thanks in advance John/
Old 08-07-2010 | 09:41 PM

Re: 5.0 TBI wont idle same problem with mine

Originally Posted by Formulajohnny1
Newbie here,
64k on the clock.
Bad idle. some girl owned it from 25,000 to 64000 mile light tap in the front new hood needs paint.
next brakes were squeeking/ cut rotors new pads were goos to go on that. needed two rear tires 245/50/16 done.
took car to work for a month ran great a little hop maybe shocks or struts need replace or bad tire not sure.
Ok here it is