Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

DESPERATE PLEASE HELP

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2008 | 09:53 PM

Car: 1991 Chevrolet Camaro Z28
Engine: T.P.I. 305
Transmission: 700 R4
Axle/Gears: Richmond 3.73
DESPERATE PLEASE HELP

Okay, this is my first time having to ask a question... it is a dandy!
I have a 91 Z28 Camaro with an automatic trans and a 305 TPI.
I have recently installed TWO new fuel pumps, new MAP sensor, checked the fuel pump relay, car is holding 42 lbs. of fuel pressure at idle and pressure goes up when I press the accelerator. Yesterday I had a well known mechanic to come up and he put a scan tool on the car and all sensors seemed to be in normal parameter.
The car will run good until the car goes in to close loop. As soon as the computer closes the loop in starts idling realy bad and won't take fuel. It actualy will die, sometimes it will start back and others it will take a shot of ether to get it back running. Once you get it started back it will sit and idle realy rough, but won't die.
The TPS tested okay!
I can jump over the wires going to the fuel pump relay and start the car and it doesn't change anything.
Is there anyway that the fuel pressure could be reading good, but still not getting to the injectors?
I can listen to the injectors and her all of them working.
I don't understand what the computer could be reading that is making the car run so bad.
I TRULY DO APPRECIATE ANY HELP THAT ANYONE CAN GIVE
By the way, after shutting the car off in closed loop and restarting it, it stayed in open loop!

Last edited by cwv2; 08-21-2008 at 10:24 PM.
Old 08-21-2008 | 10:10 PM

Car: 1991 GTA
Engine: L98 350
Transmission: 4L60
Re: DESPERATE PLEASE HELP