Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Low vacuum, Poor idle. Please help!

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2008 | 10:32 AM

Low vacuum, Poor idle. Please help!

Hello everyone, I am new to your web site but i thought i might give it a try. I bougth a 88 IROC-Z about 3 months ago, i had to pull the engine out because of internal damage, so i bought a short block online and rebuilt the engine and put it back in the car. i have the engine running but iam only getting 7-10 in HG at idle and it runs poor and trys to stahl. i found that the TPS sensor was out of specs so i replaced it, and just to make sure i replaced the IAC sensor as well. i was thinking of a vacuum leak, but i taped up the TB and pinched off the vacuum lines and i fed about 15-20 PSI to the intake and i had 3 o-rings for the injectors leaking so i fixed that. it still wasnt solved! i checked the brake booster for a leaky diaphram it was fine, i checked the EGR Valve, it was fine as well. I just dont know now and iam getting tired of redoing work i all ready have done. iam starting to think cracked intake but i know i would have heard that. the valves are adjusted right. compression is good, vavle seal is good. Any ideas people??????? Please help me I have 6 months left in germany and iam trying to fix up this car so i can take it back to the states.
Old 02-23-2008 | 12:14 PM

Car: 82 Berlinetta/57 Bel Air
Engine: LS1/LQ4
Transmission: 4L60E/4L80E
Axle/Gears: 12B-3.73/9"-3.89
Welcome aboard thirdgen.org.

Where in Germany? I assume you're in the service, which branch? I spent '79-'82 in Mainz in the Army, did a V6 swap in a Vega while I was there.