Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Re-using intake gaskets

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2008, 08:51 AM
Supreme Member

Received 61 Likes on 46 Posts
Car: Building LS3, T56 Z28
Engine: LS3
Transmission: T-56
Axle/Gears: Moser/ 4.11
Re-using intake gaskets

Is this possible to due?

Mind you my motor is only a year old and only has 4000 miles. I am swapping a vic. Jr for an RPM air gap and want to spend as little as possible. I have never done and intake swap before but I did build my car from the ground up so I am proficient at learning how to do things.

Any pointers? Recomended products? Like gasket coatings? Stupid to even think of re-using gaskets? Worth getting ARP bolts?

Also I am aware of the torquing improtance, but how is it done if you can't get a TQ wrench on there? I have only seen "crows feet" addapters. Thats what i have seen them called that are like horisontal extentions. I don't really want to og out and get this tool if I don't have to.

Do you guys do it by feel or what?

Thanks and sorry for all the newbie Qs.

Old 02-06-2008, 08:56 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 82 Sport coupe
Engine: 355 semi roller
Transmission: TH-350 B&M ratchet shifter
Axle/Gears: 3.73 Eaton Posi
Re: Re-using intake gaskets

It is possible to do, but it's just setting up yourself for a big vaccuum leak in the future. Buy new gaskets, they're like 8 bux. Why do you want ARP bolts on an intake manifold? It's not like it's gonna come off.
Old 02-06-2008, 09:24 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1992 RS Heritage
Engine: 305 TPI
Transmission: TCI 700r4