Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

TPI swap no start--lost....

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2006, 02:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
TPI swap no start--lost....

Hi guys,

I am new to this but I hoping for some insight.

I just finished swapping a TPI 350 into my 305TBI 1990 firebird. Of course, it will not start. So where I am at:

I have spark, the timing is set correct, I rechecked while cranking. I spun the distributor 180 just to be sure. I have good spark at the plugs. I rechecked the wires to make sure they are not crossed or mixed.

I have fuel pressure, kind of. When I first turn to run I get good pressure at the schrader valve. Then it dies right off. When I crank the pressue again opens right up, but dies off when I turn back to run. While cranking I pulled the fuel lines and it puts out good flow. I have a new fuel pump, TPIS regulator. The injectors have been pulled, cleaned and mapped. I was going to put power to the 'G' terminal on my ADL block but there is no connector there.

Anyone with advice would be great. I tried to search the board but for some reason I keep coming up with an explorer error.....I have been trouble shooting this forever and I am going nuts.

Thanks
Shawn
Old 07-28-2006, 04:03 PM

Car: 1992 Camaro RS - not real slow anymore...
Engine: SPDC 360 MAF EFI /w a Holley Stealth Ram
Transmission: T5 untill it blows up from to much torque
Axle/Gears: Ford 9" /w auburn pro & 3.89's
Originally Posted by Shawn Hartsock
Hi guys,

I am new to this but I hoping for some insight.

I just finished swapping a TPI 350 into my 305TBI 1990 firebird. Of course, it will not start. So where I am at: