Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Breaking valve spring dampers!?

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2006, 08:18 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 86 IROC
Engine: SC'ed 350
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 4.11 12bolt
Breaking valve spring dampers!?

I'm in the middle of changing head gaskets and when I pulled the valve covers I noticed most or all of the spring dampers are broke or damaged. Some have totally destoyed the valve seal.

What do I need to do to remedy this problem? Upgrade to better springs? I'm a newbie when it comes to this stuff.

The engine has 906 vortec heads and I'm running #8 of boost. Looks like the previous owner didn't plan on the boost when he had the motor built. I've been wondering what the extra box of Lunati (73943) springs were for. =(
Old 07-14-2006, 08:41 PM
Supreme Member

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
You can't use 1.25" single springs with dampeners on stock Vortec heads. The base of the valve guide boss is too big in diameter and the dampener coil hangs up on it...... presto, broken dampeners. I'd recommend putting in a set of springs like the Comp Beehives (little pricey, but nice) or some other spring designed to run without a dampener inside (don't know if the Lunati springs you have are designed for that). Or you could take the heads off and have the guides machined down and the base of the guide boss machined to a smaller diameter.

One of the many annoying little things you have to deal with if you're using stock Vortecs. That's why so many people buy them with the guide work already done and a set of performance springs installed (Scoggin Dickey upgraded Vortecs or similar).
Old 07-14-2006, 10:03 PM