Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

92 Firebird base 305 won't start

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2006, 11:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
92 Firebird base 305 won't start

I'm brand new with Firebird diagnostics and have done some quick preliminary research and checking, so please bear with me.

Yesterday the first sign of trouble was when it took 10 tries to start. It would fire but run poorly and die, then it finally started and ran fine. Next start was okay. Then the 3rd time it wouldn't fire at all.

The starter will spin the engine great, but it won't fire.

I used a spare spark plug on the #1 plug wire and got nothing. I then put it on the coil wire and it was clicking rapidly. It was bright daylight so I couldn't see the spark but I could definitely hear it.

I jumpered pins 5 & 6 on the DLC connector under the dash and got nothing but the double-flash over and over again.

So, I've read that a faulty oil pressure sending unit could cause a no-start, or fuel pump relay or the fuel pump.

Any tips on checking these 3 items or any other common or quick things to check?

This is my girlfriend's car and I had to get up a 4am to take her to the airport this morning and I'd really like to get it running before she gets back.

Thanks,
Ed
Colorado Springs
Old 04-22-2006, 04:00 PM
Supreme Member

Car: 1992 Firebird
Engine: forged 357
Transmission: 700r4, 2200-2400 stall, vette servo
Axle/Gears: stock pegleg 2.73 drum (temp)
Hey Ed, welcome. Check for spark and fuel before you do anything drastic.
Old 04-25-2006, 11:14 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: '85 TA
Engine: Carb'd 350, ported 416s
Transmission: retrofitted T5
Axle/Gears: 3.42 7.62" 10-bolt, locker