Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Brand New motor break in........how to? (noobie Qs so bare with me)

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2006, 08:22 AM
Supreme Member

Received 61 Likes on 46 Posts
Car: Building LS3, T56 Z28
Engine: LS3
Transmission: T-56
Axle/Gears: Moser/ 4.11
Brand New motor break in........how to? (noobie Qs so bare with me)

Ok so I am had a 385 built for me a few months ago and the car is getting to the stage of startup. I have never done anything like this before and I have been building this car for 3 years so I REALLY REALLY don't wanna mess up.

What I know:
-The dizzy is supposed to be pointed at the #1 wire on the compression stroke.
-The engine should not be filled with coolant and all, like normal, but apparently needs to have water added...or something like that, I did not understand in my searches.
-The oil is filled slicgtly high since it is not coating anything right now. I will prime it pefore startup.
-I should set base fuel press to about 4 and work my way up to 7 is the motor needs it.

Thats all I really know.

What I really wanna know is:

-How have u guys set your fuel pressure initially?
-When you prime it, can I expect a reading on my oil pressure guage?
-How do you set base timing and total advance? (those are the only 2 kinds right?)
-Is it OK not to have my PCV hooked up to the carb during start up?

I guess that is all I can think of now. Please answer anything you can. Later

-Dennis
Old 01-20-2006, 09:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1991 transam,gunmetal,t-tops,
Engine: 305,.030,k&n,airfoil,3inch exhaust,flowmaster80
Transmission: 700 r4
Axle/Gears: 4:10 posi unit
start-up