Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

305 Head Advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2006 | 01:38 AM

Car: 1991 Trans Am
Engine: 305 TPI
Transmission: 700R4
305 Head Advice

Specs are in sig. The car has been in storage the last three years while I finished college. Now I have a job and want to get it back on the road. It was smoking on startup when I parked it so I am going to take the heads off to have them rebuilt.

There is a really good engine guy in town who will do the heads for me. I know the valve seals need replaced. But was wondering what else I should have him do while the heads are out of the car?? Any parts that are recommended for replacement. The car is around 155,000 miles, I dont think the heads have ever been worked on. Any help is appreciated, I am new to this rebuilding process. Also, just out of curiosity, is it possible to swap the cam with the engine still in the car???

Another note, I believe I have three bad injectors. I was researching and read about the ford 19 pounders. Do they have any problems fitting, are they basically the same size as the stock injectors, I was concerned about them leaking, etc.

THANKS
Old 01-12-2006 | 02:21 AM
Supreme Member

Car: currently thirdgenless!!!
Have the heads checked for cracks, new valve seals, upgrade the springs (will allow you to add a cam with a larger lift later on if you desire), have the valves radiused, and maybe a little exhaust bowel blending.

I had all of that done to the heads on my camaro.
Old 01-12-2006 | 02:41 AM