Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Would it be worth the time and $?

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2005 | 10:52 PM

Car: 88 gta
Engine: 350 tpi
Transmission: 700r4
Would it be worth the time and $?

ok I need to pull the intake complete tpi manifold because I have a the beginning of a coolant leak in the base plate. I am a novice mechanic so I am expecting this to take me a couple of days. The time frame does not matter because the car is a toy, I have a work truck I drive every day, so if it sits a couple of weeks it doesn’t matter.

So here is the question, I was thinking I could pull the heads at the same time to do some minor porting. seems like a good time since the intake will already be off. I have read a ton of post telling how sloppy the cast iron heads are, and I have read that they can be made to flow much better buy just de shrouding the valves a little and smoothing out all the bumps and ridges.

I also will be porting the intake, plenum, and cleaning up the base plate. I will not be simesing the base plate just smoothing out and cleaning. I will also be doing basically all the free moods. I will not be cutting up the maf because I will switch to sd before it will be a restriction. Also will be reinstalling the same valves, I don’t want to touch the cam right now, and same exhaust manifolds. Will be upgrading exhaust late next year if money allows.