Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Hooking up my vortec heads

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2005 | 02:59 PM
Supreme Member

Car: 2002 SS
Engine: Ls1
Transmission: T56
Axle/Gears: 3:42 posi
Hooking up my vortec heads

Hey my vortec heads are about to encounter some serious work and I need to know what to buy since I'm still learning. Here's what I know I need.

The guides are going to be cut for comp 987 dual valve springs, (Specs- O.d 1.430/ i.d .697) (121@1.800 installed seat load) (Open load 388@1.200) (Coil Bind 1.150) (Rate Lbs/In. 1.150) (Titanium Retainer 730) (Steel Retainer 740) (Shims 4754)

So i'm going to purchase those valvesprings. Now after I put them in the cart, what about locks,retainers, and spring cups. Should I purchase any of these? Whats going on here is I'm going to take 1 of my heads to this machine shop (the heads still have the stock springs and valves on it ocmplete) and see if I can get an installed height of 1.8 with a stock length valve. If not then i'll just get a longer valve. But all in all i'm getting new int/exhaust valves anyway.

Also i'm getting my stock studs pulled out, then milled & drilled & tapped for screw-in studs. Is there a place I could buy just screw in studs for my machinist?

Someone told me "Teflon valve guide seals" whats that for?

I only have like 300$ to spend right now so i'll deal with the intake/exhaust valves, the 1.6 roller rockers, lifters and the pushrods next week or so.

I'm also thinking of some port work or just the blending of the bowl area. He's also going to open the push rod holes to 1/2".

Only really asked about 5 questions Lets stick to valve train
Attached Thumbnails Hooking up my vortec heads-00_00003.jpg  
Old 07-15-2005 | 04:06 PM
Supreme Member

Car: 89 RS
Engine: 383 in building process