Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Feedback Carbs Suck!!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2005, 04:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 88 Formula 350
Engine: Hopes and Dreams
Transmission: Slush Box
Axle/Gears: 9 Bolt, 3.27
Feedback Carbs Suck!!!

Hello everyone, newbie here. Here's a little story for ya. I owned a 94 Dakota Sport, but standing 6'2", the legroom was non-existant. My boss proposed and offer, in trade for my Dakota, I get his 84 Trans Am and a 76 Datsun 280Z. The T/A runs and was a M/T but the rare 5 speed 280Z (I'm an old skool Nissan guy) is rust free and just needs a little TLC to the 29 year old SFI setup. Now before I even drove the T/A, I said deal!!! Well I go to drive it yesterday, and it decided it didn't like my carb hating attitude. I was idling a 2100rpm, woundn't kick down and misfired to no end. Reluctenly, I still drove it. I decided to teach it a lesson, I waited for it to warm up and then floored it. OMG!!! Running like crap, my Dakota's 3.9L and 5 speed never stood a chance. This thing was flat out quick!!! I was in Love Now I don't know why it was being stubborn, Any ideas??? I then mad a deal with my boss for some spare audio equipment, he would buy me a Edelbrock 600CFM carb, and Lunatti cam/lifter kit. Tonight i'm picking up a Holley Street Domintor dual plane intake and gasket kit for $100. Now before we rip apart the motor, I am buying a plaine jane set of Dynomax Headers so I don't have to mess aroung with the smog junk. Does anyone have any idea what cam kit I should get? I intend on this being my daily driver with some attitude.
Old 02-27-2005, 04:52 PM
Supreme Member
TGO - 10 Year Member

Received 26 Likes on 21 Posts
Car: camaro sportcoupe
Engine: 7.0L
Transmission: G-Force GF5R
Axle/Gears: Moser 9"