Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Code 43

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2004 | 09:52 PM

Car: 1988 Camaro IROC-Z
Engine: 305
Transmission: Borg Warner T5s
Code 43

Hey guys, I'm new to Thirdgen.org and I have a question for you guys.

I own a 1988 Camaro with a 305 TBI. I recently completed a head gasket job and while I had the motor apart installed a set of Edelbrock emission legal headers and a flowmaster 80 series exhaust. The car is running very well except for a few things, one of which the electric fan will not start on its own, even with a new sensor so I have to activate it with the air conditioning switch from in the car. The other problem I have is I keep getting a code 43 from the computer every once and a while. I read up on this and it seemed that the problem was the knock sensor. Well I replaced that and driving the car home today got the good ol service engine soon light on again. If I shut down the car and restart it the light goes off and the car seems to run well again becuase when the light comes on the car runs a little rough. This light only comes on when the car is warm, not durring start up.

I'll appreciate any help you guys can offer since I need this vehicle to pass emissions so I can regsiter it. It failed today before I fixed the knock sensor but I think it was because I had a 160 Tstat in the car, which I switched to a 170 later in the day. Lemme know what you guys think could be the problem. Also the timing is turned back almost as far as you would want to go, that is what we thought the trouble was at first.

Thanks guys
Old 03-30-2004 | 08:30 AM

Car: check
Engine: check
Transmission: check