Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

How to make my car more dependable?

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2003, 05:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: IROC
Engine: 5.0 TPI
Transmission: Auto
How to make my car more dependable?

I'm a college student and I have a 1986 IROC-Z

The car is great. I love it to no end, but being that is coming up to it's 18th birthday and all, and like all cars, it's not performing like it did when it rolled off the factory floor.

In a nutshell, it's great for 30 mile radius from where I live, but I just don't know if I can trust it, say if I go on a road trip. I'm not willing to take the chance.

Anyway, my car's main problem is that it eats Alternators. I've replaced about 8 of them in the past 2 years. 6 of them are from NAPA and 2 are from O'Reilly. They ARE reconditioned... but I'm a college student Is there anything I can do?