Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

how to wire in power seat?

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2000, 06:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 91 camaro
Engine: 383
Transmission: T56
how to wire in power seat?

I have a 91 Z28 without power seats, and I'm putting in a power seat from another 91. I've heard that the connector may be there under the carpet in my car even though it didn't come with power seats. Does anyone know for sure? And if it's not there, how do I wire it in? I got the connector out of the donor car, and I know that orange is + and black is -, but how can I safely wire it in without blowing something up or lighting my car on fire? I'm not very good with electrical stuff so please be a little more specific than saying just wire it to a power source and a ground. (I know this probably shouldn't be posted in the engine section, but I really need an answer fast, I'm doing this tomorrow.)
Old 10-12-2000, 06:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I too have a ’91 Z28 but with power seats. The information I’m giving you is from the Chevy service manual.

The power seat has three motors for (1) front height, (2) rear height and (3) forward/backward movement.

There is only one connector (two wires) to the battery (positive and ground), and one connector from the motors to the switches (six wires) (both connectors are contained on the seat). The wires are as follows:
connector #1:
ORN/BLK = +12
BLK = ground

connector #2:
LT BLU = rear height motor 1 of 2
YEL = rear height motor 2 of 2
DK BLU = front height motor 1 of 2
DK GRN = front height motor 2 of 2
LT GRN = forward/back 1 of 2
TAN = forward/back 2 of 2