TBI Throttle Body Injection discussion and questions. L03/CFI tech and other performance enhancements.

When do you have to start programming a tbi?

Search this Thread

Old Yesterday | 04:49 PM

When do you have to start programming a tbi?

I've been roaming these forums for the last 10 years (since I bought my 89 formula) and haven't done any kind of performance mods until now. If there's already a sticky on the subject I'd appreciate a link. This is my first time posting so apologize if this has been mulled over. I'd just like to know how far I can go until computer tuning is required. It's a stock engine with headers, full exhaust, open air element, air pump delete, and a tbi riser.
Old Yesterday | 05:39 PM
Sponsor
15 Year Member

Car: 1967 Camaro, 91 z28
Engine: Lb9
Transmission: M20
Axle/Gears: J65 pbr on stock posi 10bolt
Re: When do you have to start programming a tbi?

Have you datalogged to see how it’s running?
Old Yesterday | 06:16 PM
Supreme Member
10 Year Member

The air pump delete may want a change to the calibration.

I think the ECM adjusts the R/L threshold voltage by 100mV on the O2 sensor to account for the extra O2 being introduced by the AIR system when it's activated.

But if you're not noticing any performance issues from seat of the pants, I think those mods could probably be absorbed by the stock calibration.
The following users liked this post:
dmccain (Today)
Old Yesterday | 10:06 PM

I don't have any way of doing anything with the ecm. It's running all this on the factory tune. It seems to run fine and it's certainly drivable. So maybe I'm in the clear for this. Any idea what it would take to swap to an lt1 cam? All the threads I've seen are from 2003ish and I don't recognize any of the software they refer to.
Old Today | 06:31 AM
Supreme Member
10 Year Member

Car: 89 Firebird
Engine: 355 TBI
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 10 Bolt.Posi-3.73s

Until you go to changing cam or heads... You will probably be ok
Old Today | 07:08 AM