TBI Throttle Body Injection discussion and questions. L03/CFI tech and other performance enhancements.

Tbi Engine Tuning Questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2009 | 07:11 AM

Tbi Engine Tuning Questions

Hello all I have a few questions on a project I'm building for my daily driver. I know this is not a truck website but ya'll are awsome with this tbi injection. The first one is how difficult is it going to be to tune this combination? I've never done any ecm tuning before but I have been reading alot of the information form yall's site. I've already purchased the Moates burn2 burner, downloaded tunerpro and winaldl software. It's an 85 C10 Chevy SWB truck. I was running a 89 350w/700r4 auto using all the factory 89 wiring (from an89 suburban electronic gauge cluster incl) and 7747 ecm with a ASDU prom untill the oilpump failed and ruined the bottom end. Here's what I'm currently building a 91 350 that has dished pistons an have a set of 601's that I'm doing a full port job with 1.94"/1.50" valves (thanks to help from a friend), the cam I'm going to be running is a SpeedPro CL179 (68' 350hp/327 L79 Corvette repro cam) specs at .447"/.447" lift with 222/222 dur@.050 with a 114 cl, a ported Edelbrock Performer Rpm intake, custom 4barrel to tbi adapter, a 350 tbi unit with an adjustable fpr and all the ultimate tbi mods done to it but still has factory 350 injectors, 14"x5" open element air filter, 1.5/1.6 aluminum roller rockers, full 92' serpentine belt system w/underdrive pulleys, 1 5/8" long tube hooker headers, 2 1/2" true dual exhaust with straight flow glasspack mufflers, stock ignition system (for now), 91 fullsize truck 5 speed with short throw shifter and a 3.42:1 limited slip rearend running 275/60/15's on rear. Like I said before tuning a fuel injected engine is all new to me, I've had them for years and have always wanted to learn to tune them so now's my chance. Will the stock fuel pump be enough to handle these changes? are the 350 injectors going t