TBI Throttle Body Injection discussion and questions. L03/CFI tech and other performance enhancements.

'88 Bird start up with fuel issue???

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2007, 02:55 PM
Supreme Member

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts
Car: 80 SE/TTA;88 T/A GTA;86 T/A
Engine: 4.9L Turbo; LT1; empty
Transmission: TH350; T56; empty
Axle/Gears: 3:23 disk; 4:10 disk ; 3.42 disk
'88 Bird start up with fuel issue???

I have an '88 Firebird 5.0L TBI. I'm a basic home mechanic, so instead of sounding pompous and ignorant and act like I'm completely knowledgable in what I'm talking about, I'm asking as many questions as possible, so be gental. This is my first direct experience with tinkering with a GM v8, I am aware that for the most part, TBI is a carbed motor with a fuel injection throttle body unit atop a TBI intake. My issue lies with the fact that I have to sit there and turn the key for a couple of seconds and after about 5 to 10 seconds I see the pressure gauge start to go up and once it hits half way, the motor fires right up. Is that normal? Is this motor more like carbuerated than fuel injection in the start up characteristics? Also there is a bit of smoke everytime i start out coming out...normal??? It goes away after a couple of seconds...it's just initial fire-up.

The car idles near perfectly once it starts up. It is responsive and idles perfectly, it's just the start up. I'm not sure if it's the motor or the gas issue, as I haven't dealt with this and all the other v6's I've played with worked like fuel injection or carbeurated should (of which the v6's were MPFI or Carbed, this is my first TBI). The reason that people have lead me to believe that I have a gas issue is that at times I have to pump the gas (thought you didn't have to do that with FI?) and a couple of times it's had a hard time starting/idleing, and after a couple of revs, or after dying a couple times and restarting, it will run normally once again.