TBI Throttle Body Injection discussion and questions. L03/CFI tech and other performance enhancements.

670 tbi questions..?

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2000, 02:42 AM
BPA

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
670 tbi questions..?

I currently have a LO5 caprice 350 in my 91 Rs. My question is this.. Would i be better off going with the 454truck tbi or the holley 670 tbi. What modifications besides the afpr on the truck tbi, and the changing of injectors on the holley will need to be made?right now i have the stock 470 or what ever the exact cfm is tbi and intake manifold. Im going to upgrade the manifold to a performer erg in the future. will eather of these tbi's work on the stock manifold or are the manifolds ports to small? Its good to see the boards back up.
Old 09-19-2000, 08:07 AM

I would buy the Holley unit and the injectors that come on it will support 300hp and more easily (see my sig) which is more than the caprice 350 is putting out now. I've been using mine for 4 years and had no problems other than modifying the throttle bracket slightly to accept my throttle cables since the Holley is setup for a truck throttle linkage. I would definetly get a new intake but as to which one, everyone has their opinions. I just got my Holley projecion intake in yesterday so I havent gotten into the install to see what problems await me. A carb intake will work great also but you need the adapter for the TBI to bolt to the carb intake. My Holley fits on my stock intake fine...but why it will on the stock but not on the Edlebrock (so Edlebrock claims due the the intake openings being less than 2") is beyond me. The stock intake has less than 2" throttle bores but the Holley fits perfect and the throttle blades open all the way. The Holley manifold has 2" throttle bores. The stock intake is killing my hp so definetly get a new intake.