Suspension and Chassis Questions about your suspension? Need chassis advice?

Frame/rust issue

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2012, 10:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 88 camaro
Engine: 305
Transmission: 5 speed
Axle/Gears: 3.08
Frame/rust issue

Ok guys I need some advice here once again I discoverd today while looking for the poping noise in my front end that the cause is a crack on the outside of the frame where the steering box is. The way I understand it is this is a comon problem but the cause of mine is rust. The inside and top of that part of the frame is in good shape and I know it can be fixed but I'm wondering if it would be worth it since mine is only a v6 car and not in that fantastic of shape. I'm a certified welder fabricator by trade and I know I can fix it but I can't tell as far as how long it will take me to do it since there is to much stuff in the way to see the full problem. I can email pics to somebody if they could tell me how long they think it would take to fix it but I don't know how to upload photos using my iPhone. Honestly I want to fix it because when I found out that's what it was my heart sank and I realized how much I love my ratty old camaro but I must do what is logical here the car isn't worth all that much and I know that if I had to pay someone to fix it it would cost close to the same amount that the car is worth so any comments or advice would be apriciated it's an 89 rs that has a hard 98 k on the clock and it does have the support brackets around the box.
Old 08-26-2012, 11:06 PM
Supreme Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: 93 240SX
Engine: LQ9
Transmission: T56
Axle/Gears: 3.54 R200 IRS
Re: Frame/rust issue

Cut what you need out of a car at the junkyard, fix it, you've got the ability to weld it, so you should have a pretty good idea how to go far enough for it to be done right.
Old 08-26-2012, 11:24 PM
Supreme Member

Car: 1987 IROC-Z
Engine: TPIS II Supercharged w/Nitrous
Transmission: 700R4 Probuilt