Suspension and Chassis Questions about your suspension? Need chassis advice?

A couple front end rebuild ?'s for those that have done it

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2012, 04:42 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 92 RS
Engine: a slow one
Transmission: a crunchy one
Axle/Gears: a whiny one
A couple front end rebuild ?'s for those that have done it

Will be doing a rebuild in the coming weeks.

I need to take it in to have A-arm bushings and balljoints pressed in, and also to do the alignment afterwards. I just don't know if I'll actually save myself anything to try and do this front end myself, and was wondering what some of you guys have paid for this kind of work in the past.

I now live in an apartment and no longer have a compressor to do the work. It will be all hand tools. I would also need to buy a balljoint fork, jack stands, and a new breaker bar. I am a proficient mechanic and not intimidated by the work, but would rather not do a project in my apartment parking lot to save a meager 100-150 bucks or so. Gonna be doing the balljoints, A-arm bushings, inner and outer tie rods, and adjusting sleeves.

Also... What do you guys think of the expensive "problem solver" balljoints from moog? Much better than regular moog ball joints?

I'm doing this in conjunction with a bunch of other upgrades (more like maintenance really), adjustable panhard, springs all around, torque mount, poly endlinks all around, rear sway bar, and all the bushing to go with them. Cant wait to get it done

Last edited by Dizturbed One; 02-07-2012 at 04:50 PM.
Old 02-07-2012, 08:08 PM
Supreme Member
TGO - 10 Year Member

Received 50 Likes on 48 Posts
Car: 86 Trans Am, 92 Firebird
Engine: 408 sbc, 3.1L of raw power
Transmission: TKO600, T5
Axle/Gears: Moser 9", 3:70 trutac, 3:23 torsion
Re: A couple front end rebuild ?'s for those that have done it

the problem solvers joints are oversized to fit in control arms with worn out holes.