Suspension and Chassis Questions about your suspension? Need chassis advice?

Spring Information and Rates

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2012, 03:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 86 IROC Z
Engine: 68 327
Transmission: 5 Speed
Spring Information and Rates

Getting ready to install Eibach Pro-Kit springs and wanting advice on if other components will be needed. Primarily will I need a front end alignment kit and a new rear panhard bar?

Also, I looked all over for spring rates on an IROC. Here's what I've measured and calculated. The front spring rate is about 450 lbs/in, I'd say plus or minus 10%. The rear springs are around 217 lbs/in, but that is using a constant spring rate calculator. This will be slightly higher since it is a variable diameter coil.

Eibach may not like this, but here are the calculated rates for the Pro-Kit. The fronts are about 600 lbs/in. and the rears (again with a constant rate calculation) are about 280.

FYI, I am a mechanical engineer with spring design experience, albeit on smaller force requirements, so these rates are trustworthy.
Old 01-22-2012, 08:37 PM
Supreme Member

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Car: 1989 GTA
Engine: SuperRam 350
Transmission: Pro Built S/S TH700R4
Axle/Gears: 3.27
Re: Spring Information and Rates

Eibach says their rates for their springs are as such.

Pro Kit: 714 lb/in linear front 1 inch lower front
109/177 lb/in progressive rear 1 inch lower rear

Sportline: 700 lb/in linear front 1.6 inch lower front
80/137 lb/in progressive rear 1.3 inch lower rear

Drag launch: 337/514 lb/in progressive both front sides
80 lb/in linear driver side rear
80/217 in/lb progressive passenger side rear
Old 01-23-2012, 07:38 AM

Received 93 Likes on 68 Posts
Car: Met. Silver 85 IROC/Sold
Engine: 350 HO Deluxe (350ci/330hp)
Transmission: T-5 (Non-WC)
Axle/Gears: Limited Slip 3.23's

Originally Posted by gsmcgehee