Suspension and Chassis Questions about your suspension? Need chassis advice?

Suspension & Chassis Mechanics

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2011, 12:56 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: 2003 F-150
Engine: 4.6L Modular V8
Transmission: 4R70W
Axle/Gears: Ford 8.8"/3.55 LSD
Suspension & Chassis Mechanics

I've been toying with getting a thread going on the basic relationships between the Suspension & Chassis since we lost a pair of the finest threads on the subject. My aim in this thread is to give solid technical information and overviews of the many subjects involved in suspension & chassis function. But there are areas where I don't have enough technical understanding and experience to intelligibly explain the subject as I am not an engineer. About time I put to paper the 2yrs of knowledge & experience I gained on FSAE & in the machine shop.

Topics I hope to explain (red indicates my limited knowledge & experience):

Torsional Stiffness
Instant Center
Roll Center
Center of Gravity
Weight Distribution
Sprung Weight
Unsprung Weight
Bind
Spring Rate
Wheel Rate

Motion Ratio
Ride Height
Tires
Bushings, Rod Ends, Ball & Socket Joints
Structural Integrity
And any other topics that any readers come up with that I haven't thought of.

Hopefully, we can get a great body of knowledge together for Suspension & Chassis Mechanics.
Old 05-25-2011, 01:37 AM

Re: Suspension & Chassis Mechanics

First up, Torsional Stiffness & Structural Integrity. For the sake of simplicity, lets assume we aren't gas axing & welding the uni-body to suite our needs and are working with a from the factory 3rd gen uni-body.