Suspension and Chassis Questions about your suspension? Need chassis advice?

Subframe Removal

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2006, 10:19 AM
Supreme Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Car: 1987 Firebird
Engine: 355
Transmission: T56
Subframe Removal

Found out some bad news about my car, aparently the trans x-member area is so rotten that it falls off in the guy's hands. Ill attach a pic, you can judge for yourself. Ill also attach a pic of the floors above, and why i was SO SHOCKED!!!

Long Story short, i havent asessed the problem completely yet because i havent seen the car just yet since it was at this guy's place that i was paying to install my new driveline. (Im a university student, pressed for time). So im preparing for the worst. I have a parts 88 camaro, the subframe appears to be solid, how difficult would it be to "swap" the two sub frames? These are both bone stock cars, both came with 2.8L V6s, but my berlinetta (good car, bad frame) will be getting a 350.

Im looking for tips and heads up about every aspect of this. ie:, what do i need to unbolt, cut, weld, hammer, etc....

I assume there are some bolts holding the frame to the body, possbly some welds. I will probably need to remove the suspension, and brake components, as well as any fuel, lines and hoses.

And then reconnect them for installation. What am i missing?
Attached Thumbnails Subframe Removal-camaro-057.jpg  
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
Camaro 047.jpg (60.9 KB, 425 views)
Old 11-14-2006, 01:08 PM
Supreme Member
TGO - 10 Year Member

Received 1,839 Likes on 1,399 Posts
Car: Yes
Engine: Usually
Transmission: Sometimes
Axle/Gears: Behind me somewhere
There's no "frame", and no "subframe". Nothing you can unbolt and re-bolt.

Looks to me, it's time to throw that car in the trash, and concentrate your efforts on some other one. That one is used up.