Suspension and Chassis Questions about your suspension? Need chassis advice?

Front end rebuild difficulty?

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2006, 09:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1984 Camaro Z28
Engine: Roller 350
Transmission: T-5
Axle/Gears: built ten bolt 3.73's
Front end rebuild difficulty?

Well I am in the process of rebuilding the front end on the car. However I have never tackeled this job before on any car so I am pretty new to this. I have the pickel fork, and the spring compressor, is there anything else I am missing? I have the spohn front end rebuild kit but there was really no instructions so I am assuming that you just bolt it all together and get it aligned afterwords.
Old 09-17-2006, 10:54 PM
Supreme Member

Car: '83 Berli, '84 Berli, '84 Z28 HO
Engine: L69, LG4, L69
Transmission: TH700-R4, TH700-R4, T-5
Axle/Gears: 3.08, 3.08, 3.73 Posi
it is pretty self explanitory really.. you can follow a haynes or chiltons book on how to take all the parts apart, and put them back in.. it really is not that hard to do... I generally raise the car up and lock the wheels so they can not move at all.. then remove the parts and put them back on.. that way it is pretty close to being aligned from start.. and you can actually drive it to a shop to get it tweaked
Old 09-17-2006, 11:35 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 91 GTA, 91 Formula, 89 TTA
Engine: all 225+ RWHP
Transmission: all OD
Axle/Gears: Always the good ones
Easy.

Go slow.

Review what your doing before you start.

A factory manual cant be beat.

Use a real spring compressor.

Be careful working with springs.

Nothing hard or complicated, just takes some time.

Also grease the heck or antisieze everythign u take off for ease of repair next time around.

All torque values for suspension are with the weight of the car on the suspension, so use jackstands under the a-arms and rear for final torque.

later
Jeremy
Old 09-18-2006, 09:26 AM
Supreme Member

Car: 88 GTA "Cocaine"
Engine: 350 tpi