Suspension and Chassis Questions about your suspension? Need chassis advice?

installing subframe connectors...

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2003, 11:05 PM
Supreme Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1999 Z28
Engine: LS1
Transmission: 4L60E
Axle/Gears: 3.23 10 Bolt
installing subframe connectors...

im not an engineer nor fabricator BUT, i have a set of Alston SFCs and tonight i sat them in the subframes to get ready to weld them in. i had a long thought before i put the car on jackstands. ive heard two sides of the installation 1) put jack stands under the front control arms and the rear end so the car sits like it would on the ground and 2) put the jack stands on the chassis.

both ways seemed kind of a crude way of installing these things, either way u cant be sure if the cars sitting perfectly level. so my idea was why not jack up the car, put the jack stands under the rear subframe and front subframes, let the car sit on the jackstands, get out the old tape measure and take some meaurements and see if the distances from certain parts of the car (fender lip, subframes, etc) had the same distance to the ground all the way around.

i quickly found out how well of shape my unibody is when i put it on the stands (hardtop car) my car is lowerd so getting a jack under it is one hell of an ordeal so i have to kinda go up on each end a little at a time. well while getting it in the air i didnt put one jack stand as equally high as the other in the rear, suprisingly when i let the car down, it was elevated on three stands and didnt even flex enough that my eye could catch. i was pretty impressed by that.

anyway, when i got the car up as high as i want i proceeded to place the jack stands underneath, let the car down on them, took my meaurements all around and they all came out to be the same distances, great.

isnt this be a better way to make sure the frame is sitting 100% level?
Old 10-25-2003, 11:12 PM
Supreme Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts