Transmissions and Drivetrain Need help with your trans? Problems with your axle?

Manual Swapping 89 Iroc z (In Australia)

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2024 | 07:39 AM

Manual Swapping 89 Iroc z (In Australia)

Got my hands on a convertible 89 Iroc z in Sydney somehow and am looking to swap it to a manual transmission, looking across posts they suggest using the original transmission while other sites say i need a different driveshaft (this is for other cars, I didn't find anything mentioning a different driveshaft for third gens). Buying a original transmission in Australia will cost an arm and a leg so I am wondering if anyone knows other transmissions I can swap in or other cars that share the same transmission.

I am also very new to working on cars so I am sorry if anything is painfully obvious that I don't know

Edit: Forgot to mention the car has been RHD converted but I don't know if that even changes anything

Last edited by AusYoungin; 10-16-2024 at 07:44 AM.
Old 10-16-2024 | 09:35 AM
Supreme Member
15 Year Member

Car: Yes
Engine: Usually
Transmission: Sometimes
Axle/Gears: Behind me somewhere
Re: Manual Swapping 89 Iroc z (In Australia)