Power Adders Getting a Supercharger or Turbocharger? Thinking about using Nitrous? All forced induction and N2O topics discussed here.

Turbo sizing

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2011, 03:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Turbo sizing

Hi
I am looking into going down the 383 stroker twin turbo route aimed at about 1000whp with 8:1 compression. I need a little help on the turbo sizing as i am very new to turbos. If anyone would like to help me out with this question it would be awsome! Thanks in advance...
P.S. i have been looking at some of the turbos on turbokits.com and i am leaning twards the garret ball bearing turbos and have a few questions like. What is a the diffrence between all of the turbine housing like t3/t4 drop in and things like this? in advance!!!!!

Last edited by FoxRider9096; 05-25-2011 at 03:38 PM.
Old 05-25-2011, 03:58 PM
Supreme Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Engine: 3xx ci tubo
Transmission: 4L60E & 4L80E
Re: Turbo sizing

For a 383ci and 1000 HP you only want at T6 housing if single, T4 if twins. Forget the T3 & T4 stuff for singles.
Old 05-25-2011, 11:11 PM

So...... I am lost and have no clue what these numbers mean is there a special diffrence in betwen all of them??? What twin turbos would you suggest that are garret and ball bearing to use to hit 1000whp and how much boost will i need?? Sorry for my ignorence on this subject.
Old 05-25-2011, 11:56 PM
Supreme Member

Received 372 Likes on 301 Posts
Car: 89 Iroc-z
Engine: 555 BBC Turbo
Transmission: TH400
Axle/Gears: Strange 12 bolt 3.42

Did you read the Garrett websites' turbo tech articles? turbos 101, 102, and 103 That will get you information on how to size them.

FWIW, I think the GT35R's could do it. Or GT40's. basically a T4 frame, somewhere around 61-64mm on compressor wheel should be enough, but you could go as high as 70mm and still work ok. Depending on how nasty you get with the cam/heads setup, it should do 1000whp on 20-25psi, all depending.