Power Adders Getting a Supercharger or Turbocharger? Thinking about using Nitrous? All forced induction and N2O topics discussed here.

what carb for a s/c

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2010, 04:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 94 trans am
Engine: 6.3 383 lt1
Transmission: a4 4l60e
Axle/Gears: stock 3.23
what carb for a s/c

hey guys im about to buy a 92 formula with a 350 tpi, i want to convert it to carb and put a root style s/c im going to put this s/c on it

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/WND-6502-1/

and i was wndering what size carb to put on i was thinking of this one

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/WND-6502-1/ but im not very good with carbs and if i do this it will by my first carb'd car.

if this carb isnt worthy please let me know what other one to put on, and i know im going to need a fuel regulator and fuel lines but what else would i need to do to convert it to carb.
Old 12-09-2010, 09:38 PM
Supreme Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: 1983 CHEVROLET CAMARO Z28
Engine: Forged 355 with a GT45 turbo
Transmission: TKO 600
Axle/Gears: built 4th gen rear with 3.27s
Re: what carb for a s/c

id go with the holley 700 cfm supercharger carb. it is specificly setup for a draw thru roots design.....boost referenced power valve, 50 cc acc pumps etc.....

as for your fuel lines you would need a return style fuel pressure regulator something like the mallory 4309 and ald a fuel pressure guage would be good too.youll want to run 6psi of fuel pressure at idle and have a vacuum line coming off the intake manifold over to the boost referenc eport on the regulator.as boost increases youll need more fuel......

timing you will want to run no more than 30* total...depends also on your compression ratio and what other modifications you have...if you have any other questions let me know thanks
Old 12-10-2010, 11:28 PM
Supreme Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 83 Z-28
Engine: 406
Transmission: TH350
Axle/Gears: 3.70