Power Adders Getting a Supercharger or Turbocharger? Thinking about using Nitrous? All forced induction and N2O topics discussed here.

wastegate and bov help.

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2007, 03:29 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1989 pontiac firebird trans am gta
Engine: 355
Transmission: 700r4
Axle/Gears: 327:1 9 bolt
wastegate and bov help.

I am still new to the turbo ting and i have been doing alot of research but can't seem to answer these two or three little questions. On my 50mm external wastegate and my blow off valve i have two vacuum lines that go to them. I know one is for boost reference for controlling them but the other i do not know. Also, the top of my wastegate has a threaded hole where the adjustment screw should go, but it is missing. I took the wastegate apart and i do not see how this screw could possibly adjust anything. There is nothing for the screw to press against to stiffen the spring. I figured there would be a small flat round piece which could increase spring tension and raise the could level but nothing. I have pics with arrows pointing toward the vacuum lines and the screw assembly. If anyone can help it would be great. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails wastegate and bov help.-wastegate.jpg   wastegate and bov help.-blow-off-valve.jpg  
Old 12-25-2007, 09:57 AM
Supreme Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Engine: 3xx ci tubo
Transmission: 4L60E & 4L80E
Re: wastegate and bov help.

Quite a few people get confused with the threaded holes. Both holes are there to install a fitting for vacuum/boost. That wastegate is not adjustable with a rod. It is designed to be adjusted with a boost controller (electronic air valve, mechanical check ball w/ spring, etc).

The two holes are so that you can install a boost controller. One hole allows boost to pressure one side of the rubber diaphram and the other is to counter-act that pressure using a boost controller.