Power Adders Getting a Supercharger or Turbocharger? Thinking about using Nitrous? All forced induction and N2O topics discussed here.

Window switch necessary for 700r4 & NO2?

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2001, 01:16 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Window switch necessary for 700r4 & NO2?

I have an automatic 1992 Camaro RS...I have heard all sorts of things, but I figured here I'd hear the real deal. Now, I'm putting a 120 HP NOS kit in my TBI RS, but I've come to understand that it's not a good thing to spray while shifting gears, and a window switch will shut off the nitrous for me so as to save my poor little tranny. Well, what should I do? Where can I get a decently priced one? Thanks!
Old 06-05-2001, 10:05 AM

I've been spraying through the shifts for two years with no problems. Just make sure your tranny's been prepped to handle it. A good shift kit will do the trick. 120 shot on a TBI shouldn't be too much for the 700r4. I didn't start running into problems until I built the motor up, and started spraying 175. Then it started slipping on the 2-3 shift.
Old 06-05-2001, 04:06 PM

Where can I get a decent shift kit that's inexpensive? And thanks for the reply. =D
Old 06-05-2001, 05:35 PM

TransGo makes the best shift kit. There's a lot of places you can get it from. Try these guys. http://www.pro-built.net/products/transgo.html

Old 06-05-2001, 08:33 PM

I agree with formula on the shift kit. Those guys are awesome. As far as the window switch, I use one to prevent spraying just in case I hit my rev limiter. I set it 300rpm below my rev limiter but it is right above my shift point so that I spray through shifts. I use a 150 shot on my 700R4 with 153k+ miles.

Jeff
Old 06-06-2001, 09:17 AM

A window switch will not shut the juice off, unless your RPM's drop enough between shifts. If you want to drop it out between shifts, I would use a button on the steering wheel.

------------------
1992 Pontiac Firebird 350/Six Speed
1987 Toyota Pickup 383/500+ HP