Power Adders Getting a Supercharger or Turbocharger? Thinking about using Nitrous? All forced induction and N2O topics discussed here.

where can i fill nitrous tanks?

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2002 | 04:27 PM

where can i fill nitrous tanks?

Hey, im thinking of building a nitrous oxide system. I have a lot of experience with paintball equipment and therefore bottling compressed air and running the plumbing from the tanks to the guns recivers. I would like to get a 3000 PSI 80 cubic foot scooba tank so i can use it as a fill station. And then use a couple of paintball nitrogen tanks for in the car. I also heard you can ues CO2 tanks because the n20 liquifys about the same pressure as CO2 (~800 psi), is that true?

Also i dont know where i can get a fill, and if theyll even fill a scuba tank. I called up Indiana Oxygen and they cant sell it anywhere other than medical places. Do you need any sort of licence to get it filled at performance auto shops? And does anyone know of a place to get it filled either in Indianapolis or West Lafayette?

thanks
Old 08-03-2002 | 09:49 AM

anybody?
Old 08-03-2002 | 10:15 AM

As fars as I know no license is required to fill a tank. Call around to your Local Rice shops, they usually have filling stations. I know a place by me fills 'em. It's just a performance parts store, Mainly import trash though.
Old 08-03-2002 | 10:50 AM

haha, okay, does anyone know if i can use co2 tanks? I have about five 20 oz tanks sitting around but only two 114 CI nitrogen tanks. I would like to tie all the 20 oz tanks together into 1 line, and this way I can lay them down under my passenger seat for easy access. I also have heard that you need a siphon tube and if i lay them down sideways, the tube may just pick up gas instead of liquid, but I can always just get a bent siphon tube put in at my local paintball pro shop. Does anyone know if laying them down horizontaly with a straight siphon will give me any problems?
Old 08-04-2002 | 03:25 AM