Organized Drag Racing and Autocross Drag racing and autocross discussions and questions. Techniques, tips, suggestions, and "what will I run?" questions.

Hot Rod Power Tour Noob needs tips

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2022 | 04:15 PM

Car: '92 RS
Engine: 5.0TBI
Transmission: TKX
Axle/Gears: 2.73
Hot Rod Power Tour Noob needs tips

I just signed up for the HRPT in June. Five days of drag racing, theoretically bracket racing, in four states. I have extensive SCCA solo regional experience but have never been down a quarter mile officially. I have a 92 RS with a 99% stock TPI 305 so I'm not expecting to set the world on fire and will be happy to just finish intact and have, hopefully, lots of fun along the way. I'm a little nervous and would like to ask a few questions from some more experienced types on what to expect and what to prepare for;

I am bringing some lawn chairs and a small cooler but will I have a reasonably secure place to keep my stuff? In the mountain west area, theft at the track isn't unheard of but, you can be confident while you are on track your stuff will still be there when you get back.

Will my car itself be more or less ok or should I lock it up securely whenever it's out of view? This is after all a very large event not a regional autocross.

What time in the morning am I expected to be at the track? this is likely communicated somewhere but I haven't found it yet. How long does the event go on during the day?

If my car breaks, unlikely with 170 whopping horsepower, are there repair places readily available? I suspect this one has more to do with the facilities at the particular track.

Should I generally hideout in shame, see aforementioned 170 horsepower, away from the high powered guys? In autocross generally, there isn't much of the badass guys looking down on the slow guys but I don't know drags.

Anything I should know I haven't thought of??