Organized Drag Racing and Autocross Drag racing and autocross discussions and questions. Techniques, tips, suggestions, and "what will I run?" questions.

How to get involved in autcross(?)

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2001 | 07:27 AM

How to get involved in autcross(?)

Hey guys,i would like to get involved in autocross and would like any suggestions you guys have and what will i need to do,anyone know where to get started in New York?,i just think it would be fun,i think i am a good driver but i am sure going to a school would help and i would like to do it as i love driving,drag racing is cool but just doesn't do it for me like roadracing.

------------------
www.rearman.com/camarokid.htm

If it aint a V-8 that $hit aint fast!,unless its a GN,lol!

305 tpi,700r-4 with shift kit,16 by 9 American Racing cross laced wheels,My mods are minimal,just a bunch of little $hit.Anyone know where to get underdrive pulleys for a v-belt set up?
Old 06-01-2001 | 11:37 AM

Go here: www.scca.org

From there, follow the Solo II stuff. Somewhere in this site will be a map of the US. Click down through the map and this will take you to the web site local (or closest) to where you live.

Good luck. You won't be sorry you tried it.
Old 06-01-2001 | 11:42 AM

Better yet -

http://www.scca.org/getstarted/nediv.html

This will get you where you need to be.
Old 06-01-2001 | 02:11 PM

The SCCA is a great starting point but also look for other car clubs in your area. Those other clubs may also hold autoxs.

Personally, I don't like the SCCA that much simply because their events are too big. Competitors usually only get 3 runs. Instead, I run with the local BMW group, where we got 8 runs in last event - and probably could have done at least 1 more if we didn't break for lunch.

Around here - MA - other groups which put on autoxs include the BMW group, Miata, Porsche, Ford SHO, and a local sports car club.

So look around....