Members Firebirds Post pictures and information about your Third Gen Base, SE, Formula, Trans Am, and GTA Firebirds!

1984 Firebird T/A full restoration

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2013, 01:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1984 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am
Engine: Stock 305
Transmission: Stock 4 speed auto
1984 Firebird T/A full restoration

I'm a highschool student so this build will include a bunch of make shift repairs, i don't have alot of money but I hope to make my t/a look really nice. i will be re-upholstering the majority of the interior (i will try to do this by myself) I am going to re-do the headliner, re-paint most of the trim pieces and maybe even put some carbon fibre vinyl on the interior like motobooks did. I will probably go the poor man's way and plasti dip the car but i will do all prep work so it should last a bit. I will post lots of pictures of the process and hopefully gain some experience and end up with a nice looking car. right now, i have a job which brings in a little cash and need some advice on how to do the underside of the car, like rust treatment (I have a little rust) and undercoat material, maybe even put some bedliner. I am also strugling with the color options for the inside. i cant afford a carpet right now and my interior is tan and brown. i was thinking maybe changing the tan interior trim pieces to black and leaving the headliner tan or just doing black on black or maybe even wrapping the interior trim pieces with carbon fibre. I would like to buy most of the things in stores like canadian tire and walmart and even partsource or watever. I got the car last summer and was hoping my dad would help me restore it, $500 later he stopped so I took it upon myself to restore this car back to its original state. right now its rocking i-roc z rims and a rigged up sound system that isnt half bad.
Old 03-09-2013, 09:44 PM
Supreme Member

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Car: 1984 Trans Am
Engine: LT1
Transmission: T56