History / Originality Got a question about 1982-1992 Camaro or Firebird history? Have a question about original parts, options, RPO codes, when something was available, or how to document your car? Those questions, answers, and much more!

Total 3rd Gen Noob - What to look for?

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2007, 02:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Total 3rd Gen Noob - What to look for?

So my friend is selling an 86 Camaro which has been in storage for a year. He has been religious with it and keeping it running in that time and has owned as a summer car for 6 years. It has 132k and is a 5spd. This is still pretty preliminary and I haven't got all the details yet, though I'll post stuff later the more I learn. Basically I'm looking for a car that is going to be a project car eventually but I am also in need of some daily transportation. Which isn't to say I'll be driving the car everyday. I am a grad student in Pittsburgh and occasionally need my car to get groceries, etc. because carrying your groceries on public transport is kinda lame. I'm on sabbatical in Maine (where the car is) so I'll need to get it back to PA. It looks pretty rust free as it isn't a Maine car and has never seen winter. I'm taking it in to get a mechanic to look at it. He is asking $2k for it. Its not an IROC or a Z, just a plain ole 'Maro. I've always had a soft spot for the 3rdgen and my current car (a Mitsubishi Eclipse) is getting to0 expensive to fix (the aftermarket for Mitsu parts is plain awful, not to mention the prices!). So my basic questions are:

1) What is the overall reliability of these cars? Should I simply look elsewhere?
2) Whats the average price of parts for the 3rdgen car? What about part availability?
3) What particular problems should I look for with these cars?